Standing Committees

While our Standing Committees may not require additional members at all times, there are interesting projects and task forces in which you can become involved.  Please contact the Committee chair for further information. Members from outside of Toronto are welcome to participate via teleconference.




Advocacy and Policy Committee
Chair:   Dana Peebles
Vice-chairs:   Deb Palter and Peter Kryworuk

What We Do:

Bench & Bar
Civil/Criminal/Family/ Estate Law
Child Advocacy Project
Civil Rules Committee
Commercial List Users' Committee
Court Houses
Court Security
Criminal Law

Family Law
Government & Media Relations
Insurance Law

Justice Museum
Legal Aid/ASLA
Liaison with Legal Community

Pro Bono Projects
Professional Conduct
Rules of Practice
Simplified Rules
Special Events


Collegiality, Mentoring and Membership Committee  
Chair: Michelle Awad
Vice-chairs: Lonny Rosen and Paul Vickery

What We Do:

Arleen Goss Young Advocates’ Award

Catzman Award for Professionalism & Civility

The Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy
End of Term Dinner
Fall Convention

Festive Receptions

Golf Tournament 

Institute for Civility & Professionalism

International Conference


LSUC Equality Advisory Group
Mentoring Events

New Members Breakfasts

Ottawa Honouree Dinner

Roger Fisher Scholarship
Stockwood Prize for Advocacy Article

TAS Gives Back
The Advocates' Society Medal
The Award of Justice


Education Committee
Chair: Guy Pratte
Vice-chairs: Megan Shortreed and Ann Morgan

What We Do:

CPD Programs
Faculty Development 

Fall Forum
International Training 
Ontario Justice Education Network 
Spring Symposium

Tricks of the Trade 


National Committee
Chair: Brian Foster
Vice-chairs: Steve Tenai and Sarah Armstrong


What We Do:

Oversee Society programming and membership benefits in provinces outside Ontario in a manner that accords with the Vision, Mission & Strategic Plan and make recommendations to the Board as appropriate.

Finance and Audit Committee
Chair: Joseph Markson
Vice-chairs: Blair Bowen and Sheldon Hamilton

What We Do:



Young Advocates’ Standing Committee
Chair: Daniel Naymark
Vice-chair: Ben Kates
Secretary: Victoria Creighton

What We Do:
For information about the Young Advocates’ Standing Committee, please click here.



Member Log On

A + A-
Follow @Advocates_Soc on Twitter The Advocates' Society on LinkedIn The Advocates' Society on Facebook
 Follow us!

Practice Groups

Practice Group Blogs Practice Group Events

Membership Benefits


Membership BenefitsWith exclusive content such as videos, community forums, and blogs, the value of being a member is greater than ever...
Learn more




Look At What We're Doing

Pro Bono


Rental Facilities

Meetings and Events Made Easy

As an organization that hosts educational and social programs, we know how important a seamless event is to your business.
Click here for more information.

Website Design by Clutch Marketing