The Catzman Award for Professionalism and Civility


Justice CatzmanThe Catzman Award was created in 2008 by the Catzman Family together with The Advocates’ Society and the Chief Justice of Ontario’s Advisory Committee on Professionalism. It’s awarded in memory of the Honourable Marvin A. Catzman of the Court of Appeal for Ontario.

This annual Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate the qualities exemplified by Justice Catzman throughout his distinguished career, including:

  • An exemplary knowledge of the law;
  • Integrity, fairness and civility;
  • Generosity of time and expertise, with a commitment to mentorship and/or legal education; and
  • Dedication to the highest ideals of the legal profession
The recipient must be a lawyer in good standing with The Law Society of Upper Canada and is not required to be a member of The Advocates’ Society.

The Award will be presented at the Opening of the Courts in September 2019 and acknowledged at The Advocates' Society End of Term Dinner in June 2020.

Thank you to all who submitted nominations. Nominations are now closed.

Past Recipients
2009 – Stanley G. Fisher, Q.C.
2010 - Jeffrey S. Leon, LSM
2011 - Bryan A. Carroll and John Norris
2012 - Connie Reeve
2013 - L. David Roebuck & W.A. Derry Millar
2014 - Michal Fairburn
2015 - Samuel S. Marr
2016 - Donald Bayne
2017 - Kenneth Cole
2018 - Tom Curry