The Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy

The Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy

The Laidlaw Medal is awarded for excellence in advocacy to an advocate in his or her middle years of practice.
The Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy Recipient Sarit E. Batner

Congratulations to Sarit E. Batner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP, recipient of the 2020 Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy.
Selection Criteria:

The Laidlaw Medal honours a member of the profession who has:
  • Practised for 10 to 20 years
  • Distinguished him or herself as an outstanding oral advocate in civil and/or criminal matters
  • Actively participated in the training and mentoring of junior members in the art and science of oral advocacy
  • Been an active member of The Advocates’ Society and is held in high regard by the Members of the bench and bar
Preference may be given to Society members who have not been previously honoured by the profession. The recipient must be a lawyer in good standing with the Law Society of Upper Canada and is required to be a member of The Advocates’ Society. The Laidlaw Medal is awarded every three years at the End of Term Dinner.

About Douglas K. Laidlaw:

Douglas K. Laidlaw, Q.C., was a leading Canadian litigator who was killed in a traffic accident in Toronto in 1984 at the height of his career. He joined McCarthy & McCarthy in 1956, and by the time of his death in 1984, he had argued more than 50 appeals to the Supreme Court of Canada, covering many areas of law. Doug Laidlaw had strong connections to The Advocates’ Society. He was a Founding Member in 1963, served as a Director (1966-1969) and was Chair of the Professional Conduct Committee. Doug Laidlaw was awarded The Advocates’ Society Medal posthumously in 1985.
Past Recipients:

2014 - Robert Centa
2017 - Monique Jilesen