Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee (MASC)

The Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee was established as an official Standing Committee in 2018 (under the name of 10+), with a mandate to promote the interests of mid-career advocates within The Advocates' Society. The name of the Committee was officially changed on May 30, 2023. 

Sonu Dhanju-Dhillon
Sonu Dhanju-Dhillon
Melanie Baird
Melanie Baird

Christopher Lee
Christopher Lee

Jennifer Hunter
Jennifer Hunter
Communications Liaison

What is the Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee (MASC)?
For the purpose of carrying out its mandate, the definition of midcareer advocates is not rigidly defined, but generally considered to be comprised of advocates who have been in practice for about 10 to 20 years.

MASC fosters networking and engagement among mid-career members to build and engage members during this phase of their careers and seeks to develop opportunities for the participation of mid-career members in the Society. MASC members sit on various TAS Standing Committees.

MASC also promotes access to justice initiatives, pro bono initiatives, leadership, and career and business development programs for mid-career advocates.

MASC Initiatives include:
  • Mid-Career Retreat - coming in February 2024
  • How to Mentor Series
  • Allyship and Cultural Competence 
  • Mid-Career Women’s Social
  • Management for Litigators
  • Mentoring Dinner Series (jointly with YASC)
  • Friends Who Argue Podcast (jointly with YASC)
  • Advocacy Matters newsletter

The Committee is led by an Executive Committee that consists of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Communications Liaison. Committee membership reflects the diversity of the Society’s membership, including, without limitation, representation from different practice areas of law and from across Canada.

Committee membership is limited to Society members who are mid-career advocates.

Questions about MASC? Please contact MASC 2024/2025 Chair Sonu Dhanju-Dhillon at sdhanju-dhillon@torkinmanes.com.

Get Involved!
The MASC Standing Committee seeks engaged, hard-working volunteers to promote the interests of mid-career advocates through planning and implementing information and networking events, producing the Advocacy Matters newsletter and participating in the work of The Advocates’ Society.

MASC Members 2024/2025

Craig Aitken, Milosevic & Associates
Daniel Baum, Langlois Avocats, S.E.N.C.R.L.
Laura Bevan, Lawson Lundell LLP
Jennifer Bolduc, Giffen Lawyers
Lisa Marie Buccella, Aviva Trial Lawyers
Brian Duong, Hunter Litigation Chambers
Kristen Duerhammer, KPMG Law LLP
Erin Farrell, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP
Cathy Guirguis, Olthuis Kleer Townshend
Chris Horkins, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Megan Keenberg, Keenberg & Company PC
Emily Kettel, Bennett Jones LLP
Brent Kettles, Ministry of the Attorney General - Crown Law Office Criminal
Julia Lisztwan, Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP
John Mather, DMG Advocates LLP
John McIntyre, MW Law Offices
Christine Muir, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP
Omolara Oladipo, Omolara Oladipo Professional Corporation
Sonja Pavic, Department of Justice
Erin Pleet, Ross Nasseri LLP
Kim Potter, Fasken
Wade Poziomka
, Ross & McBride LLP
Sebastian Pyzik
, Woods S.e.n.c.r.l.
Brittiny Rabinovitch, Babin Bessner Spry LLP
Marie-Noël Rochon, LCM Avocats Inc.
Eric Sherkin, Miller Thomson LLP
Miranda Spence, Aird & Berlis LLP
Erica Tait, McCarthy Hansen & Company LLP
Zahra Taseer, Laurel Family Law LLP
David Thompson, Carroll Heyd Chown LLP
Joe Thorne, Stewart McKelvey
Jonah Waxman
, WeirFoulds LLP