Trial moots give students vital experience perfecting the analytical, research and writing skills they will need to practice law.  The Advocates’ Society is honoured to administer two of Canada’s leading trial moots, offering Canadian law students the chance to formulate arguments and present their cases in front of distinguished members of the bench and bar. 

The Sopinka Cup

The Honourable Justice John Sopinka was a multi-talented person. An outstanding lawyer, teacher, author, expert in law of evidence, concert violinist and played for the Toronto Argonauts in the CFL, he became one of Canada’s foremost trial and appellate advocates. He was counsel in many high-profile and renowned cases, and one of the few lawyers to be appointed directly from practice to the Supreme Court of Canada, where he quickly established himself as one of the country’s most distinguished judges.

Following his untimely death in November 1997, The American College of Trial Lawyers honoured its former member by joining his family, colleagues and associates to develop the annual Sopinka Cup competition, inaugurated in 1999 as the national trial advocacy competition for Canadian law schools. A fund created with generous donations from the American College, law firms, former associates and friends across Canada provides annual financial support. The Advocates’ Society assumed the role of competition administrator in 2003.

Congratulations to the 2018 Winning Teams

From: McGill University
Robert Israel (Coach)
Kelsey Angeley
Dominique Verdurmen

Second Place
From: University of Manitoba
The Hon. Judge Tim Killeen (Coach)
The Hon. Judge Raymond Wyant (Coach)
Judy S. Kliewer (Coach)
Yassir Al-Naji
Ben Johnson

Third Place
From: University of Toronto
Megan Schwartzentruber (Coach)
Jonathan Shime (Coach)
Theresa Donkor
Angela Pagano

The Arnup Cup

The Arnup Cup is an annual trial advocacy competition for Ontario law schools, organized by The Advocates’ Society and generously sponsored by WeirFoulds LLP. The Cup bears the name of the Honourable John D. Arnup, O.C., Q.C., who for many years sat as a distinguished member of the Court of Appeal for Ontario following a career as one of Canada’s finest litigation counsel.

First held in 1988, the Arnup Cup has increased in prominence over the years. Teams from each of Ontario’s law schools participate in trials held in a Toronto courtroom and presided over by judges of the Superior Court of Justice. Senior members of The Advocates’ Society act as assessors. The teams vie for the right to represent the province in the prestigious Sopinka Cup, Canada’s national trial advocacy competition, held annually in Ottawa.

Congratulations to the 2018 Winning Teams


From: Osgoode Hall Law School
The Honourable Justice Robert F. Goldstein (Coach)
The Honourable Justice Moiz Rahman (Coach)
Nancy Dennison (Coach)
Nicholas Hay
Julia Cecchetto

Second Place
From: University of Toronto
Megan Schwartzentruber (Coach)
Jonathan Shime (Coach)
Theresa Donker
Angela Pangano